January 21, 2019

Latest:

SANA Trade Fair 13th March -

Friday, January 18, 2019

NALP shares its five 2019 landscaping trends -

Friday, January 18, 2019

Save the date for the SANA/ SAGIC Convention 2019 -

Friday, January 18, 2019

Trees for Africa proves eco-entrepreneurship is a great career for differently abled youths -

Friday, December 14, 2018

Call opens for 2019 International Garden Festival proposals -

Friday, November 30, 2018

LA+ JOURNAL announces winners of Competition to redesign Central Park -

Friday, November 30, 2018

The IFLA Student Design Competition Winners 2018 Announced -

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Samuel Pellissier of University of Free State’s travels inspire the winning Corobrik architectural regional award -

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Resilient Landscaping: Cape Resilient Landscaping Forum -

Friday, November 23, 2018

Tonight at UCT the m.arch (prof) & landscape architecture awards -

Friday, November 23, 2018

Brave New World’s cultural vision paints a brighter future -

Friday, November 23, 2018

Cape Town’s new Ratanga Junction development -

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Out & About at FutureScape Africa 2018 -

Friday, November 16, 2018

The New Retirement Landscape -

Friday, November 16, 2018

The Canadian Canoe Museum’s 1.5acre Green Roof -

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Thuli Masuku, the HR Director for Landscaping and Turf at Servest on what matters to her most in driving strategic human resources -

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Landscaping and Gardening Services Industry Analysis & Outlook 2018-2022 by Marketresearchpro -

Friday, October 12, 2018

South Africa’s Garden Day- Sunday 21 October 2018 -

Friday, October 5, 2018

Goosen takes first steps towards landscape restoration at Royal Cape -

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Just in time for summer… we introduce ‘The Blyde- Pretoria’ -

Monday, October 1, 2018

A New Type of Interaction by Innovative Design

Town in Iceland Paints 3D Zebra Crosswalk To Slow Down Speeding Cars

In the small fishing town of Ísafjörður, Iceland, an exciting development in road safety has just popped up – almost literally. A new pedestrian crossing has been painted that appears to be 3D by way of a cleverly-detailed optical illusion.

Not only does the innovative design give foot-travelers the feeling of walking on air, it also gets the attention of drivers, who will be sure to slow down their speed once they spot the seemingly floating ‘zebra stripes.’ Icelandic environmental commissioner Ralf Trylla called for its placement in Ísafjörður after seeing a similar project being carried out in New Delhi, India. With the help of street painting company Vegmálun GÍH, his vision became a reality.

Scroll down to see photos of the fascinating installment taken by Ágúst G. Atlason of Gústi Productions, and let us know if you’d like to see one of these crosswalks in your own city.
More info: Gústi Productions, Vegmálun GÍH (Icelandic)

 

 

Leave A Comment