April 19, 2018

Latest:

Waker Neuson’s Excavator: Equipped for Future Requirements -

Friday, April 13, 2018

The 7 strangest plants in the world! -

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

ILASA Conference on the 13 & 14 August 2018, Drakensberg -

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Living Building Challenge – A reality for South Africa? -

Thursday, March 29, 2018

GBCSA Opinion Piece – Cape Town Water -

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Greener cities will help improve our health and mental wellbeing -

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Revealed: Mayor’s plans to pedestrianise London’s Oxford Street next year -

Friday, March 23, 2018

Cape Town’s Day Zero threat to change landscaping habits? -

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

SALI rejects proposals to ‘list’ Cynodon dactylon -

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Are you a Day Zero Hero? -

Friday, March 16, 2018

A look at Sol Kerzner’s new ultra-luxury estate in Cape Town -

Friday, March 16, 2018

Peter Veenstra to build dome of plants at Design Indaba venue in Cape Town -

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Sustainable construction is integral to superior design at 31st Corobrik Architectural Student of the Year Awards -

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Zaha Hadid Architects wins contest for water-inspired cultural hub in UAE -

Monday, March 12, 2018

100 new parks in 100 days for Durban -

Friday, March 2, 2018

Restoring Land, Growing Prosperity: Richmond Park, Cape Town New Development -

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Corobrik’s Graphite pavers add to the modern Menlyn Learning Hub -

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Marcus Evans – Reimagining the Idea of a City to Enhance Liveability -

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Landscaping for Wetlands: What is World Wetlands Day all about -

Friday, February 23, 2018

Sudpave, South Africa’s First Locally Manufactured Permeable Paving Grid! -

Friday, February 23, 2018

GBCSA Opinion Piece – Cape Town Water

The Western Cape and Cape Town, the mother city, are experiencing the worst drought in history and thousands of jobs are being lost in agriculture and other industries reliant on water. Cape Townians are having to pull together like never before to save water. As an employee of the GBCSA, I have the privilege of being part of a movement whose purpose is to inspire a built environment in which people and planet thrive, and I have seen incredible transformation in the property sector as companies embark on innovative efforts to reduce their impact on the environment and are saving millions of litres of potable water every year.

But how then, has the Western Cape and the City of Cape Town got itself into this position, and what do we as South Africans need to do to pull ourselves out of this position and move towards a thriving planet? This is what I would like to explore with you in this article.

The critical focus is on dam levels and expected rainfall, which is clearly essential to gauging what supply remains available for the city to distribute to its residents. However, one must consider the contributing factors to the current situation in the Western Cape. This should be done with the view of getting ourselves out of this dire situation and to avoiding this in future – in the Western Cape and the rest of South Africa.

To view the extended version of this document please click here

Leave A Comment