July 15, 2018

Latest:

The 28th International Garden Festival Theme of the 2019 competition Gardens of paradise -

Thursday, July 12, 2018

Cellfast’s Oscillating Sprinklers -

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

A different perspective on the role of the Landscape Architect – a view from Delhi India -

Friday, July 6, 2018

Wacker Neuson welcomes Powerdek to its dealer network! -

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Corobrik presents its product qualities of Geolok and Terraforce Concrete Retaining Blocks -

Friday, June 22, 2018

ILASA Water Sensitive Design Seminar -

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Easigrass lives up to its name! -

Friday, June 15, 2018

10 Year Partnership of Growth for Haifa and Prime Trees -

Monday, June 11, 2018

Faces of the Future: The next Generation -

Monday, June 11, 2018

Global Architecture & Design Awards 2018 -

Friday, June 8, 2018

An engagement across Landscape, Architecture and Urban Design hosted by PIA – UDISA – ILASA -

Thursday, June 7, 2018

On landscape architecture as the lifeblood of a city -

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Corobrik sponsors masterclass demonstrating a vision of an accessible, safe and thriving city! -

Friday, May 25, 2018

SA wins gold at the RHS Chelsea Flower Show 2018 -

Friday, May 25, 2018

Husqvarna Broadens Premium Garden Product Offering And Expands into the High-Pressure Washer Category -

Thursday, May 24, 2018

A new approach to social resilience through landscape architecture -

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Four Seasons Property Services is transforming Brightwater Commons -

Friday, May 18, 2018

South Africa: Deputy Minister Barbara Thomson – Environmental Affairs Dept Budget Vote 2018/19 -

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Sustainability is key for Corobrik -

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

FutureScape Africa Trade Show- 1st November 2018 save the date -

Friday, May 11, 2018

GBCSA Opinion Piece – Cape Town Water

The Western Cape and Cape Town, the mother city, are experiencing the worst drought in history and thousands of jobs are being lost in agriculture and other industries reliant on water. Cape Townians are having to pull together like never before to save water. As an employee of the GBCSA, I have the privilege of being part of a movement whose purpose is to inspire a built environment in which people and planet thrive, and I have seen incredible transformation in the property sector as companies embark on innovative efforts to reduce their impact on the environment and are saving millions of litres of potable water every year.

But how then, has the Western Cape and the City of Cape Town got itself into this position, and what do we as South Africans need to do to pull ourselves out of this position and move towards a thriving planet? This is what I would like to explore with you in this article.

The critical focus is on dam levels and expected rainfall, which is clearly essential to gauging what supply remains available for the city to distribute to its residents. However, one must consider the contributing factors to the current situation in the Western Cape. This should be done with the view of getting ourselves out of this dire situation and to avoiding this in future – in the Western Cape and the rest of South Africa.

To view the extended version of this document please click here

Leave A Comment