April 18, 2019


Institute of Landscape Architecture Malaysia (ILAM), Regulates the profession of landscape architects -

Thursday, April 18, 2019


Thursday, April 18, 2019

City calls on residents and professionals to assist with new local development plans for Cape Town -

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Moshe Safdie Designs Singapore’s Jewel Changi Airport As a Destination Garden -

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

It’s That Time of Year Again & SANBI are Ready to Wow! -

Friday, April 12, 2019

The Hottest New Spot on Florida Road -

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

City completes an array of park and facility upgrade projects -

Sunday, April 7, 2019


Friday, March 29, 2019

Conservation AT Work -

Friday, March 29, 2019

2019 Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence -

Friday, March 29, 2019

South Africa’s First Plastic Road! -

Friday, March 22, 2019

John Deere Power Products celebrates milestone machine -

Friday, March 22, 2019

Jacobsen supports student from South Africa to Staffordshire -

Friday, March 22, 2019

City springs into action to clean and mow parks -

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Walkway project underway at Homestead -

Friday, March 15, 2019

City receives R50 million to create 1 300 green jobs -

Thursday, March 14, 2019

Public Arts Commission ups funding for Merschel Plaza sculpture -

Friday, March 8, 2019

Comment on the Cape Town Draft Water Strategy – 08 March 2019 -

Friday, March 8, 2019

Corobrik playing its part in looking after the planet -

Friday, March 8, 2019

The Nature of Cities Summit -

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

2019 Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence

* 33 Year Anniversary
Awards Theme:  Water Sensitive Design

Call for Entries: Open for submissions: 15 February 2019, Deadline for submissions extended to: 30 April 2019 Gala Dinner:      Cape Town:  25 September 2019: The Lord Charles Hotel, Somerset West – (Accommodation Information)


Landscape Architecture is more than a profession; it is a basic component of human culture. The ILASA Merit Awards of Excellence aims to exemplify best practice examples that are clear in their intent and relevant to their specific context. We are faced with particular social challenges in a country with extraordinary biodiversity, rich in resources but in need of conserving what we have. Projects should clearly demonstrate how they add value to the landscape, specifically in aspects of social or ecological health and well-being, but preferably encompassing both these aspects.


The aim of the Corobrik-ILASA Awards of Excellence is to acknowledge and promote excellence in landscape architecture. Promotion is achieved through media coverage of the project entries. ILASA further makes use of the project images on our webpage and in promotional brochures to prospective students and our peers in other professions. All material that is submitted will be retained by the Institute as part of its library.

The projects obtaining Awards of Excellence will be acknowledged by means of the presentation of a certificate as well as media coverage. An Award of Excellence is not given on a competition basis but based on merit; all types of projects from large complete projects to small specialist projects may be entered.


  • All ILASA members may submit/nominate any work executed by any member of the Institute. Work fully completed and sufficiently established to be assessed may be entered for consideration.
  • The entrant or a representative of the entrant is to be present at the Awards of Excellence function.
  • Projects up to five (5) years and younger, are eligible for consideration in categories 1, 2A, 2B, 2C and 3.
  • Projects older than ten (10) years are eligible for consideration in category 2D.
  • Projects that were entered into the ILASA Awards of Excellence in a previous year cannot be entered again, unless the project was entered as a ‘project proposal’ previously and this time as a ‘completed project’. However, projects previously entered for an award may be entered again in category 2D: Fully completed projects – Projects should they 10 years or older.

Each entrant must submit a motivation for why he/she feels they met the criteria and are worthy of an award. This is to be based on the Evaluation Criteria Calculator that is available with the awards entry form.


Awards will be considered for the following submission categories:

  • 2A: Project proposals
  • 2B: Fully completed projects – Project value less than R5 million
  • 2C: Fully completed projects – Project value greater than R5 million
  • 2D: Fully completed projects – Projects older than 10 years


  • Submissions are to be accompanied by an entry fee of R1 550.00 for the first project.
  • Fees for a second submission by the same party will be R1 150.00 and R980.00 for each additional submission.
  • Student submissions under Category 1: Research will be allowed for recent graduates (up to 2 years from graduation) on Mprof theses, that is accompanied by evidence that a final mark of 70% or higher was awarded for design. Such submission will be at a special student rate of R 775.00 for each submission.
  • Once your submission has been received you will be invoiced accordingly. Your submission will not be considered until full pre-payment is made before the deadline date.


  • All entries must be sent via a Dropbox link to eileen@vdw.co.za
  • Entry forms and proof of payment should reach ILASA no later than 30 April 2019.
  • All material for evaluation should be uploaded via Dropbox by 30 April 2019.
  • Evaluation of projects will commence during May after the submissions have been checked for compliance with the various requirements and have been categorised according to the geographical location of each project.
  • No results will be made known before the formal announcement at the Awards of Excellence Function on the evening of 25 September 2019 – The Lord Charles Hotel, Somerset West.

Please click on the links below for more information:

Leave A Comment